Mujibur Rahman enters parliament again - பாராளுமன்ற உறுப்பினரான முஜிபுர் ரஹ்மான்!

Mujibur Rahman enters parliament again - பாராளுமன்ற உறுப்பினரான முஜிபுர் ரஹ்மான்!

Mujibur Rahman of the Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) took path as a Member of Parliament before the Speaker, a short while ago, to fill the parliamentary seat vacated by the disqualification of former State Minister Diana Gamage.

The swearing-in took place after the Parliamentary session convened at 9.30 a.m. this morning (10).

The SJB had decided to nominate former Member of Parliament Mr. Mujibur Rahman to fill the National List MP position left vacant by the disqualification of former State Minister Diana Gamage from holding a parliamentary seat.

Meanwhile, a Gazette notification was issued last evening stating that Mujibur Rahman has been nominated by the SJB to fill the vacancy in Parliament created by the disqualification of Diana Gamage as Member of Parliament by a Supreme Court verdict.

Accordingly, the Election Commission, acting under section 64(5) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, No. 1 of 1981 read with provisions of the Constitution, announced that Mohamad Mujibur Rahman was declared elected as a Member of Parliament to fill the vacancy created due to the determination of the Supreme Court cancelling the parliamentary membership of Diana Gamage.

The Secretary-General of Parliament informed the Election Commission that a Parliamentary seat in the Ninth Parliament has become vacant from 08 May 2024, due to the cancellation of parliamentary seat of Member of Parliament Diana Gamage.

This was formally conveyed to the Chairman of the Election Commission in writing, pursuant to Section 64(1) of Parliamentary Elections Act No.01 of 1981.

The Supreme Court on Wednesday (May 08) declared that State Minister Diana Gamage is not legally qualified to hold a parliamentary seat.

Accordingly, delivering its verdict, the three-judge Supreme Court bench decided that Gamage is not eligible to hold the position of Member of Parliament as she holds dual citizenship.

In January 2023, SJB MP Mujibur Rahman decided to step down as a member of parliament in order to vie for the post of Mayor of Colombo in the now-postponed 2023 local government election.

Mohamed Mujibur Rahman (born 17 April 1968 முஜிபுர் ரஹ்மான் අබු මුජිබර් රහමන්) is a Sri Lankan politician and National List Member of Parliament. He previously served as a member of the Western Provincial Council for six years before being elected to parliament in 2015. Rahman resigned his seat in parliament on 19 January 2023 to run for Mayor of Colombo, but was reappointed to parliament. 

முஜிபுர் ரஹ்மான் பாராளுமன்ற உறுப்பினராக இன்று (10) சத்தியப்பிரமாணம் செய்து கொண்டார்.

சபாநாயகர் மஹிந்த யாப்பா அபேவர்தன முன்னிலையிலேயே சத்தியப்பிரமாணம் இடம்பெற்றது.

டயானா கமகேவின் பாராளுமன்ற உறுப்பினர் பதவி நீக்கப்பட்டதால் வெற்றிடமான ஐக்கிய மக்கள் கட்சியின் தேசியப் பட்டியல் உறுப்பினர் பதவிக்கு முன்னாள் பாராளுமன்ற உறுப்பினர் முஜிபுர் ரஹ்மானை நியமிக்க கட்சி தீர்மானித்திருந்தமை குறிப்பிடத்தக்கது.